Conversation 014: Om NaMaSiVaYa, Pancha Bhutha Sthala and the Seven Chakras

Seeker 1: Do you know the exact meaning of Na Ma Si Va Ya, each syllable and associated chakra in the human body? Can you input something regarding this? Na represents earth element (chakra at bottom of spine), Ma water (Navel), SI fire (heart), Va air (throat) and Ya space energy (middle eye/ mind chakra). Is this true?

Seeker 2: Yes, this must be true. Lord Shiva is considered the lord of material universe. The material universe consists of 5 elements. He manifests as Pancha Bhutha Sthala in Southern India. Sky or Akasha in Chidambaram, Air or Vayu in Kalahasthi, Fire or Agni in Thiruvannamalai, Water or Jal as Jambu Lingam in Thiruvanaikal, Tiruchirapalli and Earth as Prithvi Lingam in Kanchipuram, Ekambareswarar temple. It is being an amazing fact all the 5 temples are in a straight line with almost the same longitude! It’s still a mystery and with limited scientific knowledge thousands of years ago how the temples are established to such precision! Just like the chakras which are in straight line in our body!

Seeker 1: What? is this true? Do you have a map of these locations in India map proving this?

Seeker 2: See this link: There is a table containing the list of temples and note the longitude and temples in almost a straight line:

EarthPrithivi LingamEkambareswarar TempleKanchipuram
12°50′51″N 79°42′00″E
12°50′51″N 79°42′00″E
12°50′51″N 79°42′00″E
WaterAppu Lingam (Jambu Lingam)Jambukeshwarar Temple, ThiruvanaikavalThiruvanaikaval, near Trichy
10°51′12″N 78°42′20″E
10°51′12″N 78°42′20″E
10°51′12″N 78°42′20″E
FireAgni Lingam (Jyothi Lingam)Arunachaleswara TempleThiruvannamalai
12°13′53.76″N 79°4′1.92″E
12°13′53.76″N 79°4′1.92″E
12°13′53.76″N 79°4′1.92″E
AirVayu LingamKalahasti templeKalahasthi, Andhra Pradesh
13°44′58″N 79°41′54″E
13°44′58″N 79°41′54″E
13°44′58″N 79°41′54″E
SpaceAagaya Lingam (Akasha Lingam)Thillai Natarajar TempleChidambaram
11°23′58″N 79°41′36″E
11°23′58″N 79°41′36″E
11°23′58″N 79°41′36″E

Seeker 1: Ok. Do you agree to what each sound represent and the chakra placement in our body?

Seeker 2: How can I be the authority? It’s a known fact that any life form consists of the same 5 elements. How can anyone disagree? The mantras and truths are revealed to the ancient sages in their extreme realised state, beyond the three states of consciousness, waking, sleep and deep sleep. Hence, there is no chance of dispute. This is Vedas and Vedic Truth!

Seeker 1: Ok. if you google you will see some contradictory statements of Na Ma Si Va Ya and the order can be changed.

Seeker 2: Whatever be it, each syllable is a proper sound vibration and has meaning in its own way. Their individual meaning doesn’t change if you interchange them and pronounce. Just like 7 notes in music sa ni tha pa ma ga ri, the combinations of these sound give rise to infinite notes. Again these 7 notes belong to sama veda as Krishna himself says in Bhagavatam and in Gita he says he is sama veda among the Vedas. Remarks from unauthoritative and ignorant people cannot be taken into consideration.

Seeker 1: Ok. But there are 7 chakras in human body not 5.

Seeker 2: Yes

Seeker 1: Each chakra can be activated by 1 unique sound. Na Ma Si Va Ya has only 5 sounds not 7.

Seeker 2: Which two chakras are missing?

Seeker 1: Crown and Solar I guess.

Seeker 2: Om refers to mind. Refer

Seeker 1: Va Su De Va Ya also 5 sounds. But Va is twice, so it has 4.

Seeker 2: These mantras has no approximate translation. The sounds related directly to the principles which govern each of the first six chakras on the spine…Earth, water, fire, air, earth. Notice that this does not refer to the chakras themselves which have a different set of seed sounds, but rather the principles which govern those chakras in their place. Do not mix the 2 mantras, they are totally different and they have different purposes for chanting. Lord Shiva is the lord of material nature and Lord of Tamasa guna. Lord Vasudeva is the Lord of Sattva guna. All have different purposes in the manifestation of universe. Lord Brahma is the Lord of Rajasa Guna and in the process of creation. The supreme Lord Shri Krishna, for creating the universal manifestation manifested as three guna avatars and they are responsible for creation (brahma) manifestation (Vasudeva) and destruction (Shiva). As said in the link I gave, the mantra om na ma si va ya represents the chakras in the spine. Some say there are 114 different chakras, but there are seven main chakras that run along the spine. Root chakra is at the tail end of the spine. When a seeker asked Sri Sri Ravi Shankar: Guruji, what is the meaning of Om Namah Shivaya? Sri Sri Ravi Shankar said Om Namah Shivaya is one who lives in all the five elements.

Seeker 1: I know that’s what my confusion is. Whose mantra to chant: Vishnu or Siva or both? Vishnu is supreme than Siva correct? So better concentrate on Vishnu rather than Siva in daily meditation? or better to meditate on na ma si va ya?

Seeker 2: It depends on what you want. Vishnu Shiva Brahma are one and the same! But they are endowed as the controller of three different gunas – Sattva Tamas and Rajas. You meditate to one of them depending on what is your aspiration and you have to follow different rules for each of them to attain your aspirations. To satisfy vishnu is the most difficult, While Shiva and brahma is not that difficult. Only Vishnu can grant liberation and freedom from rebirth because he is Owner of Vaikuntha and resides there eternally, while Brahma in Brahmaloka and Shiva in Mount Kailash are in material universe and hence subject to the process of creation and destruction. They can only get material happiness. Did you get it?

I will show one beautiful information in Srimad Bhagavatam on this:

Canto 2: The Cosmic Manifestation, Chapter 3: Pure Devotional Service: The Change in Heart

Here it, clearly states the deity to be worshipped for specific aspirations. Read text 2-7 in and also 8,9 and 10. It is to be noted that Lord Krishna himself manifested as Lord Vishnu as the aspect of Sattva guna.

Author: Rajini

"Knowledge is the ultimate perfection of self-realization.". (Srimad Bhagavatham 3.26.2) Trying to seek that knowledge through life experiences that leads to compassion, dispassion and ultimately satisfaction.

3 thoughts on “Conversation 014: Om NaMaSiVaYa, Pancha Bhutha Sthala and the Seven Chakras”

Please share your valuable thoughts...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: